Best Undergraduate Paper Award

To encourage undergraduate interest in economic issues, Barry Eichengreen, President and Ann Harrison, Vice President of the International Atlantic Economic Society cordially invite students to compete in the IAES annual Best Undergraduate Paper Award (BUPA) competition, October 2017. The IAES strives to recognize and reward outstanding research conducted by undergraduate students worldwide. BUPA winners receive:

  1. A $500 check;
  2. A handsome commemorative plaque recognizing their accomplishment; and
  3. Complimentary publication of the paper in the Atlantic Economic Journal.





Picture (from left to right): Adam Brzezinski, Grace Elizabeth Finley, Rachel Philbin, and Ryan Zalla.

Congratulations to Adam Brzezinski of University of Warwick, United Kingdom, for taking first prize in our 2016 Best Undergraduate Paper competition for his paper entitled “Synergies in Labor Market Institutions: The Nonlinear Effect of Minimum Wages on Youth Employment”Look for his paper in the an upcoming issue of the Atlantic Economic Journal!

The three finalists were:

  • Grace Elizabeth Finley, Nongovernmental Organizations in Bangladesh: Platforms in a Two-Sided Market, University of Virginia, U.S.A.
  • Rachel Philbin, People Following Goods: Are Refugee Flows Associated with International Trade?, University of Pennsylvania, U.S.A.
  • Ryan ZallaEconomic Policy Uncertainty in Ireland, Villanova University, U.S.A.

*Look for 800 word anthologies of their papers to also appear in a future issue of the AEJ *


Ways to donate:

1. PayPal

PayPal is the faster, safer way to make a donation.


2. DAF Direct
DAF Direct enables you to initiate grant recommendation from your own donor-advised fund (DAF).
It’s as easy as 1-2-3:
1. Select the desired donor-advised fund (DAF) you would like the donation to originate from. 
2. In the “designation” box please type: Best Undergraduate Paper Award or BUPA
3. In the “amount” box designate your desired monetary contribution. Continue to finalize the process by clicking “next”




For more donation options: Click Here…

Please note: All donations are tax deductible under section 501(c)(3) as charitable contributions for federal income tax purposes to the extent provided by the United States law.

Copyright 2011 - International Atlantic Economic Society
  • Renew Now: Consider a 3-year IAES membership and save today!