Best Undergraduate Paper Award

Congratulations to Boris Georgiev of Aarhus University, Denmark, for taking first prize in our 2013 Best Undergraduate Paper competition for his paper entitled “Constrained Mean-Variance Portfolio Optimization with Alternative Return Estimation”. Look for his paper to be published in an upcoming issue of the Atlantic Economic Journal!

Dana Simonson, Colin Gray, Dr. Gary Clayton, Boris Georgiev, and Jia Yi Leong

Pictured from left to right: Boris Georgiev, Anqi Chen, Dr. Gary Clayton, Yue Yu, and Emilie Jackson

See other past winners here.

About the Best Undergraduate Paper Award 

To encourage undergraduate interest in economic issues, IAES President Asli Demirgüç-Kunt, World Bank, and Vice President Charles Calomiris, Columbia Business School, cordially invite students to compete in the IAES 10th annual undergraduate paper competition in Savannah, U.S., October 2014.

Winners of the Best Under Graduate Paper Award receive

  1. A $500 check;
  2. A handsome commemorative plaque recognizing their accomplishment; and
  3. Complimentary publication of the paper in the Atlantic Economic Journal.
The winner of the 2014 competition will be selected at the 78th International Atlantic Economic Conference in Savannah, U.S., 12-15 October 2014.


To learn how to apply, see our guidelines for application.

Copyright 2011 - International Atlantic Economic Society
  • Renew Now: Consider a 3-year IAES membership and save today!